The "L" Word

November 21, 2007 at 8:52 am | Posted in Dear Diary | 1 Comment

When is it socially acceptable to say “I love you” to someone other than a boyfriend? I never noticed this may be an issue when I was growing up in the states. We used to say the “L” word to almost everyone that was considered a close friend. Actually, it was more like an automatic response as a closing line. I can’t remember how I got out of the habit of saying “I love you” when I moved to the Middle East around 10 years ago, but I’m sure it had something to do with being a bit too friendly. I almost forgot about it till I reconnected with a few old friends from the States lately. Each time we talk, I realize how expressive they are and it reminded me of how I used to be and of how much I miss it.

I am a full believer in saying what you feel and not letting a moment pass to tell someone that you care. But its not always taken the right way here in the Middle East. I usually don’t realize it in the moment but when I’m talking to someone I know, I always address them with sweety, dear, babe or honey. I’ve cut down the “I love you’s” but these other words are almost impossible to delete eventhough I have tried. I’m sure there are about 50 of my friends or acquaintances that think I’m in love with them now. lol. It’s amazing how cultures can be so different. It’s also amazing how hard it can be to change old habits.

The good news is that my best friends and I say the “L” word all the time with no abandon. People should really try to show more appreciation and expressions in everyday interactions.

“You’re wonderful”

“Thanks darling”

“I love you”

“I miss you”

“Have a great day”

It makes you feel good to say them and it feels great to hear them.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I am an open minded person. And I truely believe that words spoken alone are not enough to express someone’s true feelings. By saying “i love you” to someone does not mean you are IN love with them. Big difference. but as u said, in the middle east things are different. Yet, i still believe one shouldnt say “i love u” to all people close to them. That phrase should be kept for that one special person. I mean if one is gonna say “i love u” to his/her close friends, then what is to be said to that special someone… there is nothing above “i love u”, u cant really go saying “im in love with u”. Thats just me… but as far as im concerned u can tell me how much u love me all the time 😉


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

