The Grass isn’t Greener on the Other Side

January 13, 2008 at 9:45 am | Posted in Dear Diary | Leave a comment

Food for Thought:

How many times do we sit there wishing we were somewhere else or in someone else’s shoes? If only I were richer, if only I were prettier, if only I were smarter, if only I lived in the USA, if only I were a celebrity or supermodel. What’s ur fancy? It’s amazing how engrained the saying “the grass is greener…” has become in our psyche that it has become a goal to be reached for most of us. What are we trying to reach though? In a nutshell, my theory is that all we really enjoy once we reach these wants is temporary happiness due to the novelty of it all. Everyone needs change in their lives. But once you get that change and you enjoy it for a few days, a few weeks or a few months, it gets old and there we go back on our search for happiness. There is no absolute answer to happiness except for those who are content with their lives and those who live their lives in moderation. Everyone has their own problems and every situation has its pros and cons. Think for a second about these opposite terms and what may be the pros & cons of each. Heavy vs. Thin, Cute vs. Sexy, Close to home vs. Away from home, Manager vs. Lower position, Travels alot vs. Stuck in one place, Lives in the Big city vs. Lives in a regular suburb. If you think objectively, you will see that each comes with the good and the bad. It is up for us to make do with that.

More importantly, you have to do these things for you. Because if you’re waiting for people’s reactions… then you will get them but it will be more like your “15 minutes of fame” rather than a permanent fix. I went through some really bad ups and downs trying to live my life for the future (or live my life dreaming of what it would be like to get to the other side). It’s finally when I gave up and accepted myself for who I was and accepted my situation (or environment) for what it was that I really started to enjoy my life. Now I have so many things to look forward to that don’t have to do with self improvement. What a relief!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

