Dubai Faces a Strange Week

January 16, 2008 at 9:11 am | Posted in Eye on the Gulf | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

70304782_4mimjatb_dubainov06018.jpg

 

dubaitraffic2.jpg

Dubai is a place I will mention often as most of my best friends live there not to mention it’s one of my favorite vacation spots.  I just love watching how quick and creatively they grow.  One thing that keeps me from visiting on a monthly basis or living there for that matter is the traffic.  For those of you that are used to Dubai, it must have been the strangest experience watching this bustling metropolis sleep during Bush’s visit.  Everything literally closed down and the streets were empty as seen in the pictures sent to me by my best friend. 

If that weren’t enough, my other friends were telling me that Dubai was flooding from the downpour of rain yesterday.  That’s another first for a country that hardly experiences a drop of rain.  On the subject of strange weather, Riyadh in Saudi Arabia is experiencing below freezing temperatures and might experience snow for the first time.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

