What’s Your Addiction?

March 4, 2008 at 3:00 pm | Posted in The Smoker's Room | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

These two days have been pretty intensive for me.  I have finally ended my Nicorette (2 month) streak and I find my body desperately searching for another addiction to replace it with…  so far its been chewing gum as if it will be out of stock by tomorrow and intensifying another bad habit I have called Trichotillomania.  I found out about 10 years ago during an abnormal psychology course at University that I have the symptoms of an abnormal habit called Trichotillomania – the habit of constantly pulling out hair.  Before you go writing me off as a crazy person, its not as bad as they report in the books and its not constant but it can get very annoying.  But who ever thought that I would have symptoms to something classified as abnormal.  That freaked me out for a while and then I just got used to it.

Anyway, back to the subject at hand… although its a controversial subject, I do believe that some people have more of a tendency towards more addictive habits.  For example,  there are some people that have such strong wills that they can stop any bad habit when and where they want.  And then there are others (like myself) that will roll from cigarettes, to food, to Nicorettes, to Gum, to whatever else may satisfy their cravings. 

I found some articles that I’m about to read on addictive personality so I will attach them if any of you are interested.

Do you have an Addictive Personality?

Addiction:  A Global Problem

Controlling an Addictive Personality

As for me, this is the year to break all bad habits.  One by one, I will work on my strength until I finally break free because bad habits are tiring as hell – physically and mentally.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m addicted to being a control freak!

  2. Good topic! But do you really think organisations which make money out of people’s addiction care? I believe we need to find out about them and let the public know about such unethical and irresponsible businesses. I spoke alot about this to businesses but as they see their profit in it ignored me. I am well convinced that such attitude will cause these businesses their existance in long run; but without the public knowledge about this and help of those who can investigate about unethical management and marketing this is impssible. Therefore, I decided to be one of those who want to make this happen. Through my investigation I came across with a charity which has been deceiving youths and adults over years, in a way. This is International Students House (ISH). Organisations such as Internatinal Students House (ISH)are really harmful to the health of youths. International Students House (ISH) promotes alcohol very cheap – cheaper than a bottle of water in their bar- and also places ciggarette vending machines almost accessible by everyone at anytime: this uneghical managerial attitude makes smoking and drinking easy and part of youths’ culture!!!!!

    To read some more please go to http://marketingera.wordpress.com

    I look foreward to hearing from you.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

