Question of Ethics

May 7, 2008 at 1:00 pm | Posted in Girltalk | 8 Comments
Tags:

Today I ordered lunch and as I watched them ring up the bill at the cash counter, I noticed that they forgot to ring up one item but I didn’t mention it and I was actually elated that I didn’t have to pay the whole amount considering I only had an extra 2 KD in my pocket for the rest of the day.  (my company should really invest in an ATM;)).

I personally am against cheating in any sense. But the same incident actually happened to me the other day but I alerted the cashier and then I kicked myself for doing that.  So today I let myself enjoy the cheap thrill and now I’m feeling a bit bad.  I’m wondering whether the cashier will have to pay for it himself at the end of the day or whether they have a quota for miscellaneous.  If I want to step up the argument, I could say it’s not my fault because everyone is paid to do his job and if he missed something, that’s not my problem (as cruel as that sounds).

I will not go back and pay for the item now and it was only 1 kd so it’s not such a big amount but I don’t think my conscious will allow me to do it again (especially if it will be charged to the cashier) although I’m not too happy about how expensive everything is getting. 

Being in a similar situation, I wonder what anyone else would have done and if it’s really considered unethical or not?

 

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I know someone who works at a bank. In a similar situation, he had to pay 1000 KD from his own pocket.

    If it’s 1 KD or 1000 KD, I will never take this money! because I didn’t earn it.

  2. Yeah I don’t think I’ll be doing that again. It’s still kind of bothering me. Well I’m a believer that you should try everything or atleast almost everything. I tried it, didn’t like it, most probably won’t do it again 🙂

  3. This is the famous pic. taken by Alfred Eisenstaedt, after the world war 2 victory. Please see the link

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/V%E2%80%93J_day_in_Times_Square

  4. when that happens to me, i let them know because it makes me feel good about myself.. i dont care about the ethics part.. lol

  5. Thanks Aromal. This is actually one of my favorite pics as I posted in a previous post called “Picture of the Year” https://fortheloveofblush.wordpress.com/2008/03/12/picture-of-the-year/. Check it out.

  6. i would have definitely said something

    or else id drive myself insane with GUILT!

  7. oopps.. sorry..how come its came here? my comment suppose to be on that post…

  8. I have never informed the person making the mistake and I doubt I will ever either. When your at your job, either be perfect at it and learn by your mistakes or quit. I’m sure that because you didn’t tell him that he missed an item out then he will pay for it and next time, he will definitely be more carefull. Consider it as a favor to the cashier not to do it again.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

