Beauty Secret: Olive Oil

May 19, 2008 at 9:24 am | Posted in Get Gorgeous | 8 Comments
Tags: , ,

This weekend, I had some free time on my hands so I decided to finally try what my friend G has been doing for years now.  Apparently, rubbing olive oil all over your body as a intense body mask works wonders for your skin with respect to softening and moisturizing.  So I laid towels out and started limb by limb until I was covered in Olive Oil.  Put some good music on, finished my weekend “to do’s”, gave myself a face mask as well, and after 45 minutes I took my shower.  The result was amazing.  My skin was so soft.   It lasted about 2 days but I’m hoping if I make this a weekly ritual with daily moisturizer, the condition of my skin will improve significantly.  I was looking online for other uses of Olive oil and here’s what I found on Olive Shack:

Cuticles and nails: If your cuticles are ragged and your nails brittle and dry, olive oil can help! Soak nails for 30 minutes in a small cup of olive oil.

Hands:  Smoothe on a generous amount of olive oil before bed, put on white gloves, and go to sleep. Your hands will be softer and smoother in the morning!

Lips: To soothe and smoothen dry, chapped lips, dab on a little oil.

Hair Treatment: This helps repair split ends, heals dandruff, and makes your hair shiny, silky, and lustrous.  Massage a few tablespoons of olive oil into scalp and hair.  Cover hair with a plastic bathing cap and leave on for 30 minutes or more, then shampoo as usual.

Skin:  Massage a small amount of olive oil into skin whenever you need softening and moisturizing,  Apply extra oil to rough or cracked areas.

Bath:  Add several Tablespoons of olive oil to your bath, along with a few drops of your favorate essential oil, to soothe and nourish you.

 

Related Posts:

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. A wonderful idea..

  2. wow!!
    i heard this before ..
    but always thought it would get messy and slippery ..
    but now i feel i should try it atleast once!

    good for u .. and try to keep it up.

  3. Yeah that’s what I thought as well but it’s really not that bad. Of course, you’ll have to put towels below you while you are applying and don’t apply too much. Good Luck 🙂

  4. No3ik u should massage it on ur belly 3ela 6ol…!! A7san min il moisturiser creams alf mara!

  5. Essential oils are the natural product of plant metabolism. They are considered the liquid immune system of the plant. Essential oils come from the stems, seeds, leaves, bark, roots, rinds, flower petals and grasses of plants. And Olive oil is one among. Good post…

  6. can i uase any olive oil……like even cooking olive oil from costco?

  7. Well I guess so. I’m using Extra Virgin Olive Oil… but I don’t think it really matters. Because all oil in general has moisturizing properties.

  8. […] 2.  Moisturize – morning with regular Clarins moisturizer.  Night with olive oil […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

