Men vs. Women in the Gym

June 3, 2008 at 8:24 pm | Posted in Girltalk | 7 Comments
Tags: , , ,

How on earth do men keep going and going???  Beats the hell out of me.  I’ve recently started a 3 week intensive bootcamp that my best friend Bibi created for me to get me toned and fit.  It includes 2 days of cardio and 3 days of strength.  Considering that I’m in the gym almost every day for almost an hour, I have alot of time on my hands to just observe.  And I am noticing an obvious gap in workout behavior of men vs. women.  The women take it pretty easy and don’t work out as long.  We can be quite sluggish actually.  Whereas the men in there get there before me and leave after me and are sweating the entire time.  You see them push themselves to the limit running for an hour (whereas I can’t run for 1 straight minute)  and doing reps with vigour as if their life depended on it.  I have no idea where they get the stamina or the passion to really give it as if they are really enjoying every second of it.  But I wish some of it would rub off on me because I still do not enjoy the gym and it’s quite an effort no matter how good the music is or how interesting the TV show is that’s playing.  

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. yeah its annoying… i remember gym class in school, they guys keep on running and running while us girls get tired after 3 laps (or less!)

    i think its something to do with our biological formation.. ?

  2. the*

  3. It’s the accessories….

    I think guys tend to be more into it because they are catered for (amino acid, muscle builder, nitrous boo ha ha) by alot of places like GNC which makes it feel like more of a hobby (kind of like carpentry or weaving) than an actual work out.

  4. It is not physical, it is totally a mental thing. Men tend to be able to focus on the end of the tunnel not how they get through it. Women tend to focus on the tunnel. Both patterns of thought are necessary at given times. But when it comes to working out, you have to get by the procedure, understanding its the end goal that counts.

    Check out my Blog, http://coachtu.wordpress.com/, it might help you get in the proper mindset. If you have any questions write me and I’ll help you get your mind right.

  5. Actually all of those are really true. And I like the idea of the end of the tunnel vs the tunnel. That’s very true. Thanks alot Coach A, I’ll keep you updated.

  6. HAHA Babycakes you are so funny, as coach A said it is the in the mind set, so it depends on what you want. Do u really want the results so focus on getting them, dont focus on Oh GOD I HAVE to do this. No one is making you do anything, if you want it its there go and get it. Let me add something to Coach A’s theory, a small trick I learned to meeting women in the gym, is to talk to them after they finish their work outs and the reason for that is this: Your body secretes endorphins after work outs which make you happy and feel good. You should start feeling this if you stick to the workout schedule.

  7. Lollllllllllllllll. Thanks Bibi. Now I know the intentions of you guys if anyone talks to me after my workout. By the way, I can swear I have already trimmed a bit. That’s an INTENSIVE workout. And I actually sweat for a whole 45 minutes yesterday. You would be so proud of me 😉


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

