Hula Hoop Fitness

July 15, 2008 at 11:23 am | Posted in Get Gorgeous | 7 Comments
Tags: , ,

Recently I was talking to a friend about different fitness techniques that are cardio but fun at the same time and the Hula Hoop came up.  I couldn’t believe that slipped my mind as it was one of my favorite pasttimes from childhood.  And I used to be so good at it.  So I searched this week for a hula hoop that I could use while home watching tv.  I also researched about the benefit and apparently its a great workout and tummy toner. 

After all my excitement, I tried it like 4 times and that hula will not stay up!!! I’m not sure if I got the wrong size or maybe it just takes time to get the right swing but i’m gonna keep trying 🙂  If anything, it makes you laugh just watching yourself swinging around like a crazy person trying to keep that thing up. 

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. im so bad at it!

  2. Get Wii Fit 😛

  3. LLLOOOLLLL!

    “I tried it like 4 times and that hula will not stay up!!!”

    Keep trying, it will come back. 🙂

  4. I bought a Hula Hoop last September after a group of gals raved about the tummy tightening!

    My first one MUST have been too big, so I bought a smaller one and still I was a massive failure.

    This morning, I pulled it out of my closet and gave it one last try before it was off to Goodwill and dag nabbit, I can TOTALLY DO IT NOW!

    It didn’t come right back, but I stuck with it and after maybe a dozen tries I got it. You get the rhythm back and the stance you used as a little girl and suddenly I was thinking “Man, with my iPhone I can do this AND check email!”

    Keep at it!

  5. Hi- in my teaching of hula hoop fitness classes the past few years, I think the main key to “keeping it up” is having a hoop that is the right size (diameter) for you. The larger the hoop, the slower it will rotate and the easier to keep up- and the heavier the hoop will do the same as well. With that said, it is common for many of my newbie hooper students to start off with a hoop that might be a little big and once they get the hang of it graduate to a smaller hoop (still no where near the kiddie size hoops!) And yes, it IS a fabulous tummy toner! I was in the best shape of my life from hooping! Keep working on it! You WILL get it someday soon and feel that *aha* moment AND realize what the buzz is all about! Best sunny @ hooprama.com

  6. I’m a little late to this thread, but a kid’s toy hoop from Target or Toys R Us won’t work for most adults. A good rule of thumb for a beginning hooper is that the hoop should come up to your nipples (not kidding!), and it should be made of heavier tubing than toy hoops are. As you get better you’ll probably want to graduate to a smaller, lighter, and therefore faster hoop that is around belly button height. hoopgirl.com and hoopnotica.com are good places to get hoops and lessons (both in person and DVD), and there are a lot of videos on hooping.org and youtube. jasonunbound.com has instructions on how to make your own adult-sized hoops. Happy hooping! – peakRrr

  7. Thanks for sharing!
    Blessings for a blissful Hoopy 2010!

    xo Pixie Hoops
    http://www.facebook.com/hulahooping


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

