“Hello World, Hope you Missed Me”

October 30, 2008 at 9:16 am | Posted in Girltalk | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , ,

I’m not sure why that song just popped in my mind but it seems the best title for this post and I miss the world so so so much.  Or atleast I miss the world through my laptop or maybe I just miss my routine!  OH GOD I MISS MY ROUTINE!  I am officially confirming that I am a creature of habit that does not react well to change and that falls into comfortable ruts that I really don’t want to get myself out of.  🙂  Smoking was hard enough but now changing my whole morning routine!!! That’s pushing it a little too far. 

FYI… My company recently blocked almost every form of social connection to the world such as facebook and messenger and the blogosphere and chat of any form.   I had a handy proxy which for some reason stopped working for the last few days.  Somehow today IT WORKED AND I’M CELEBRATING.

It’s funny how only less than a decade back, we hardly had email or cells for that matter and surely didn’t have more than 10 friends to keep in touch with.  All the sudden we have 200 to 300 friends to keep up to date with on a weekly basis and being cut off from your chats and source of social news can be sadly confining.  Being in the here and now is no longer the preferred choice of friendship.  My best friend and I have not seen each other in well over 5 years but we chat every single day for hours and constantly check up on each other’s pics.  It’s as if we never parted a day in our lives. 

If you think about it for a bit, it’s quite depressing actually.  There are many days where I can literally keep myself busy for hours and hours and not feel one percent of loneliness or boredom. But when you stop to think about it… It’s just me and my computer and a virtual reality that I can turn on and off whenever I please.

Not that I’m complaining 🙂  It’s just food for thought.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

