Middle Eastern vs. Western World

November 2, 2008 at 3:00 pm | Posted in Around the World, Girltalk | 5 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

I recently read a post called Style Battle: Middle East v. Western World  about a picture that doesn’t portray the image of repressed women in the Middle East that most people around the world are used to.  I was so happy when I read that post and it inspired me to write one of my own because I really want to get the message out to as many people as possible. 

Yes there is an issue of repression of women in some areas of Afghanistan and Saudi Arabia and maybe a bit in Iran which has happened in recent years due to fanatacism which is in no way representative of Islam or the Middle East.  On the contrary, women in the Middle East are considered precious and truly valued. Especially the Mother.  Women (most atleast) in the Middle East live the life that most people can only dream of.  Just because a woman wears a veil doesn’t in any way mean that she is repressed.  It may be a religious duty or an obligation but it doesn’t necessarilty deem that woman as repressed and she is usually the one who chooses to be covered.  Actually if you visit the Middle East, you will see some of the most beautiful fabrics in the world worth thousands of dollars which make the Hijab’s that these ladies wear.

From a general view, Life in the rest of the Middle East is fabulous for men and women if you have the means to enjoy it.  I moved to the Middle East with my family when I was 17 and I never moved back to the States eventhough my parents urged me to go back.  But if you ask anyone who has lived in both the ME and the WEST…  you will get a very similar response.  Here’s what I love about the Middle East as a single girl who travels back and forth between Lebanon and Kuwait.

  • I am extremely safe.  If I ever face any problems, I can just scream and every male in a radius of a mile will be at my assistance protecting a woman’s honor.
  • I am just a short flight away from some of the best destinations in the world.  Europe, Far East, Greece, Turkey, Dubai, Lebanon.
  • I have a Great job and I make a ton of Tax free money.
  • I don’t have to pay for anything that requires entertainment.  In most cases, the men pay for everything.  So whether it’s a date or just hanging out as friends, girls are usually spoiled 🙂
  • I don’t have to do any house work.  We pay very good money for maids to do that.  And no they are not repressed either!  They make really good money and have better accomodation and treatment than they do in their home countries. 
  • I almost always have my nails and hair done by a salon because the prices are so cheap… Beauty and fashion is VERY IMPORTANT in the Middle East which is half of the reason that almost any women over here could compete on a celebrity level with perfect bodies and faces.
  • After I get married, whether I work or not is my choice because it’s usually the man’s responsibility to take care of the finances, whereas it’s the woman’s responsibility to take care of the house and kids.  Of course, many women work to entertain themselves and even to assist with support of the family these days so this is not etched in stone.
  • Luxury cars are very accessible.  Me and almost everyone I know has a gorgeous car from a BMW to a MERC to Porsche.
  • Luxurywear is also very accessible… Clothes, bags, glasses, shoes.
  • You can enjoy the best nightlife in the world (especially in Lebanon or Dubai)
  • I dress however I feel like dressing.  Noone obliges me to wear anything.  Most ladies in the middle east are among the most stylish women in the world.  And if this is about skin, then visit Dubai or Lebanon or Egypt or Jordan for an expose of the most beautiful hardly dressed bodies in the world.

I know I sound like a spoiled brat right now but why shouldn’t I live it up if it’s right there for the taking?  It doesn’t mean I am not an independent woman because I work for every dollar that I make.  I am sure I am missing a ton of benefits but since I’m at work, I am not giving it my full effort.  But I’m sure any Middle Eastern ladies or any Western ladies living in the Middle East reading this can point out alot more benefits.

Lesson: Don’t always believe what you hear or see on TV especially through the news.  Propaganda is created for political purposes but is not real 80% of the time. 

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yes, giving Kuwaiti women the right to vote recently was no indication of the poor representation they had in the past. Eastern societies in general tend to be very male-oriented due to the retarded customs they’ve adopted over the years.

    I know what you mean by material wealth in the GULF STATES, otherwise, the salary of your everday Egyptian is less than 1/16 of what an imbecile Kuwaiti government employee makes.

    The Middle East is a festering pile of dogma, under-development and sand. Enjoy the riches you have before the oil runs out, I know I will.

  2. Dear The Wise One,

    I do not know if you have noticed that the above topic is not about whats going to happen wehn the oil runs out. And you forgot to note as well that there has been huge investments in various sectors so people in the GUlf are no more only reliable on oil. They are moving into multi industries and investments even if it was in a slow rate. However, the purpose of the topic is to enlighten people to the fact that Women in the ME are not as portrayed in the media. On the contrary, they are women who are independent, wise, and make their own decisions; whether to wear a veil or not. and what a woman puts on her head will never be an indication of her abilities and stregths. If SOME people in the Westen World become less ethnocentric and racist, they will be able to explore and appreciate dfferences and find common grounds between all women of the world no matter where they are.

  3. very good post indeed…
    u know the media has created a hype against muslim women at most of the times… althu the fact is not like the way they portray it… they should read posts like these…
    thank u for posting

  4. They are american women of course. In US female salary only 2/3 of male


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

